Stories and Teachings from the Lotus Sutra


  • Mountain Rain Zendo 2016 Wall St Vancouver, BC, V5L 1J5 Canada

The Lotus Sutra is the most revered text in many Mahayana Buddhist cultures around the world, and is pivotal in Dogen’s views on space, time, the our deep connection to the Earth. Using many parables and rich imagery, the sutra offers a compassionate and inclusive vision of bodhisattva practice—the way to liberation for and with all  beings.

Throughout the practice period we will explore the stories and teachings of the Lotus Sutra through dharma talks, small and large group discussion, writing exercises, and the visual arts.  Below you will find a provisional schedule of class speakers and topics for the practice period, as well as PDF files you can download, a reading list and a key to Lotus Sutra chapter content. 

On Sundays we will have an extended schedule (9:30-12:30), and on Wednesdays the class time will be included in the regular schedule, 7:00-9:00.PM

Sunday schedule:

9:30 zazen

10:00 kinhin

10:10 zazen

10:40 service

11:00-12:30 dharma talk and class

Lotus Sutra Class Schedule (as all phenomena, subject to change)

Sat Sept 26   Kate     Dream, Story, Image   Chapter 1   

Sun Sept 27 Michael   Skillful Means/Burning House Chapters 2-3

Wed Sept 30Kate    Poetry and the Lotus Sutra: four Japanese poets

Sun Oct 4   Michael     Historical/cultural context of Lotus Sutra

Wed Oct 7  Michael    Dharma teacher Chapter 10

Sun Oct 11    Kate   Bodhisattvas Emerging from the Earth Chapter15

Wed Oct 14   Michael   The Lifespan of the Tathagatha Chapter 16

Sun Oct 18  Susan  The Rich Father and the Poor Son Chapter 4

Wed Oct 21     Claire    Dharma Rain  Chapter  5

Sun Oct 25    Flo   The Phantom City Chapter 7

Wed Oct 28  Kate Gender and Hierarchy in Lotus Sutra  Chapters 12-13

Sun Nov 1   Kate    Bodhisattva Practice   Chapters 20, 25

Wed Nov 4   TBA

Lotus Sutra Reading List

Download PDF

Lotus Sutra Chapter Key

Download PDF